Gertrude Lempp Kerbis Scholarship



Honoring the Chicago Women in Architecture (CWA) founder, Gertrude Lempp Kerbis (1926–2016), this annual scholarship for female students in their final year of an Illinois-based undergraduate or graduate architecture program is made possible by the Kerbis family with support from the Chicago Women in Architecture Foundation (CWAF). Each fall there is an open call for outstanding design studio projects and applications are reviewed by a jury including CWA Executive Committee members, officers from the CWAF Board of Directors, and other recognized architecture practitioners.

Two Gertrude Lempp Kerbis Scholarships are given every year. Both the winner and honorable mention are announced at the December CWA holiday party where the winning awardee also presents her work. The awarded projects are also featured on the CWA website. Additionally, Kerbis Scholarship recipients receive a one-year membership to CWA and two complimentary tickets to the annual event honoring the CWAF Lifetime Achievement Award.

The Chicago Women in Architecture Foundation continues to grow the capacity of this scholarship program. To date, winners of the Gertrude Lempp Kerbis Scholarship are awarded $3,000 and honorable mention scholarships average $2,000. The awarded scholarship is unrestricted.


Applicants must be female architecture undergraduate or graduate students in their final year of study from a National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB)-accredited architecture program in Illinois, including: Illinois Institute of Technology, Judson University, the School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Southern Illinois University Carbondale, University of Illinois at Chicago, and University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. There is no limit of student submission per school.


The application is available in September and due the first week of November. Scholarship winners are announced and celebrated at the annual CWA holiday party in December (date varies).

October 7, 2021: Application available online at

November 15, 2021: Application submission deadline (EXTENDED!)

December 14, 2021: Announcement of scholarship winners at the Annual CWA Holiday Party.