Congratulations to the Winners of the 2024 Gertrude Lempp Kerbis Prize

Stuti Bhardwaj
Lisa Sun
CWA and CWAF are thrilled to announce the winners of 2022’s Gertrude Lempp Kerbis Prize—a winner and a runner-up.

Winner – Stuti Bhardwaj

Stuti Bhardwaj graduated from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign in May 2023, where she received her Master of Architecture.

See her winning project here.



Runner-Up – Lisa Sun

Lisa Sun graduated from the University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee in May 2023, where she received a joint Masters in Architecture & Urban Planning

See her winning project here.

Totally Tubular


About the CWA Scholarship

Each year Chicago Women in Architecture awards a prize to a female student in her the last year of studies with an outstanding Design Studio Project. The Prize is awarded at the annual CWA Spring Brunch.


Applicants must be female architecture students with a M. Arch or a five year B. Arch Degree from a NAAB Accredited Architecture Program in the State of Illinois or Wisconsin. There is no limit of student submission per school.

Eligible Institutions

  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Judson University
  • The School of the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee


Details of 2023 Scholarship schedule coming soon.


Jury team will be composed by CWA Executive Board members, Board of Directors members, and recognized architecture practitioners.


CWA will award $5,000 in Scholarships this year; Winners will also receive a one-year membership to Chicago Women in Architecture, along with tickets for the award celebration. The winning project(s) will be featured in detail at the CWA website.