Congratulations to the Winners of the 2018 CWA Scholarship

First Place – Junghyo Woo

Junghyo Woo is in her final year at the Illinois Institute of Architecture where she will be receiving her Masters Degree in May and hopes to continue her passion for architecture after her graduation and work as a responsible designer.

See her winning project here.

Bridgeport Innovation Center in Chicago, Illinois

Second Place – Srushti Nehete & Shannon Fitzgerald

Srushti Nehete & Shannon Fitzgerald are students pursuing their M.Arch degree from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

See their winning project here.

The Showcase Building

About the CWA Scholarship

Each year Chicago Women in Architecture awards a scholarship to a female student in the last year of studies, with an outstanding Design Studio Project. The Scholarship is awarded at the annual CWA Holiday Party, where her author presents the winning entry.


Applicants must be female architecture students with a M. Arch or a five year B. Arch Degree from a NAAB Accredited Architecture Program in the State of Illinois. There is no limit of student submission per school.

Eligible Institutions

  • Illinois Institute of Technology
  • Judson University
  • The School of the Art Institute of Chicago
  • Southern Illinois University Carbondale
  • University of Illinois at Chicago
  • University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Details of 2019 Scholarship schedule coming soon.


Jury team will be composed by CWA Executive Board members, Board of Directors members, and recognized architecture practitioners.


CWA will award $4000 in Scholarships this year; Winners will also receive a one-year membership to Chicago Women in Architecture, along with two tickets for the Spring Brunch event. The winning project will be featured in detail at the CWA website.  [1]

– First Prize : $ 3,000

– Runner Up(s) : Total of $1,000 *

*It is up to the discretion of the jury to determine number of runners ups. The total amount will be divided to the runner up(s).